Displaying posts categorized under


The Dark Matter Metaphor in Biology

Dark matter is a proposed kind of matter that cannot be seen, but that we believe accounts for most of the mass in the universe.  Its existence, mass, and properties  are inferred from its gravitational effects on visible matter. The most favored hypothesis is that dark matter is not  composed of baryons, the basic components […]

The Transit and Decline of Venus

From this: To this:

Class X solar flare today

  Class X7 solar flare, viewed at 3:48am EDT today, August 9. A short guide to solar flares class types, from NASA. Class X is the biggest one, the kind that may disrupt communications. This one will mostly miss us, phew. The (hopefully minimal) magnetic storm is expected on Earth August 11.

Big Moon Rising

  Unless you have been living on the, um, moon, then you have heard about the large moon expected tonight. The moon will be almost at perigee (closest point to earth in its orbit), and full. Luna is expected to be bigger & brighter. Best viewed when it is on the horizon, seems even bigger […]


The authors and editor knew exactly what they were doing with this one: Thanks to Ed Yong for tweeting this. Chau, R., Hamel, S., & Nellis, W. (2011). Chemical processes in the deep interior of Uranus Nature Communications, 2 DOI: 10.1038/ncomms1198

Winter Solstice Lunar Eclipse

Winter Solstice Lunar Eclipse from William Castleman on Vimeo. Time lapse video of Winter Solstice Lunar Eclipse on December 21, 2010 from 1:10 AM EST (6:10 GMT) to 5:03 AM EST (10:03 GMT) from Gainesville Florida. Music is Claude Debussy Nocturnes: Sirènes.